Much needed resume help

When I began my job search I sent my resume to every pr professional I could possibly think of. Luckily many of them sent my resume back with comments that led to revision after revision of my resume. Through their help I have learned so much about what and what not to include in a resume.

So to my adoring public (he he he just kidding) here is what I’ve learned!

Ok so we all know the basics: your resume should be 1 page, in chronological order and objectives are unnecessary, but there are other less prominent tips that would be helpful to know when constructing a resume and sending it out to potential employers.

1. Represent yourself well

We all know first  impressions are important. For many of you (well me too), reading your resume is how employers will be first introduced to you, so it’s important that you represent yourself well.  Think about it. When you’re going on a first date you take the time to make sure you look your best, (well I know at least most girls do, boys are a different breed) so preparing a resume is no different. It’s important to take the time to edit it, revise it and get others to edit it so that you are sure it makes a good impression

Side note: Also tell the truth. I know that sounds easy enough, but I’ve heard a lot of horror stories about people fudging the truth on their resumes only to get to the interview and look utterly RIDICULOUS. (leave me a comment and I’ll tell you some of them).

2. Your resume is should change for each job you apply to.

I kept hearing this constantly. Study the job description you’re applying for then highlight the things they state they’re looking for in your resume and cover letter. It makes it painfully obvious for an employer to see that you have the skills that they’re looking for. It’s like holding up a sign saying “HIRE ME! HIRE ME!”

3. When listing experience, BE SPECIFIC

Almost every person I sent my resume to included the same words of wisdom: (I started to wonder if they had all gotten together to decide what they should write) “Be more specific about what you did at each job.” Like most people who fear being too wordy in their resume, I gave a brief synopsis of the duties I fulfilled, but the advice I received urged me to still be brief, but to make it clear to the employer what I accomplished in each position, not just what I did.

“Give more than a description, show that you can be trusted to coordinate your new employers efforts and solve their problems.”

– Bill Handy

To see some of the other tips I came across that helped me improve my resume check out these links:

http://billhandy.com/2008/09/23/is-your-resume-flying-first-or-second-class/

http://prprof.typepad.com/index/2008/01/resume-help.html

http://hotjobs.yahoo.com/career-articles-6_resume_must_haves-1165

Good Luck

gb

Leave a Reply

